More troubles for Kogi gov as APC leaders move against him

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.


Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, may
have more huddles to cross after his victory at
the Governorship Election Tribunal that upheld
his election.
Members of the All Progressives Congress, APC,
in the National Assembly from the state, House
of Assembly members, executives of the party in
the state and prominent party leaders from the
state, held a crucial meeting in Abuja on
Monday, accusing the governor of engaging in
anti-party activities.
The meeting after deliberating for over three
hours, set-up an 11 member Disciplinary
Committee headed by Senator Dino Melaye, to
look at various allegations leveled against the
governor, and report back within seven days.
The APC elected officers and party executive also
accused the governor, among other things, of
appointing card-carrying members of the Peoples
Democratic Party, PDP, in the state as
commissioners, special advisers, and councils’
caretaker committee members.
The meeting, which was attended by the APC
Chairman in the state, Alhaji Haddy Ametuo, in
its resolution that was read to journalists by
Melaye after the meeting, said Governor Bello
allegedly made all the appointments without
carrying the party along.
They Kogi APC leaders alleged that “Out of the
15 Commissioners he (Bello) appointed, PDP has
13 card-carrying members while APC has two.
Out of the 105 members of the Caretaker
Committee members for the 21 Local
Government Councils, PDP has 72 while APC has
“Out of the 28 people he appointed as Special
Advisers and Senior Special Assistants, PDP has
24, APC has one, APGA has one, Labour has one,
Accord has one.”
According to the party leaders, its action is
based on Article 12 (8) of the APC constitution
and it has agreed to set up the committee made
up of members from the three senatorial districts
of the state to invite the governor for necessary
They also said their action became necessary
after the Governor rebuffed all attempts to hold a
meeting with the State Working Committee of the
party since he was sworn-in as governor,
threatening to invoke all necessary disciplinary
actions against the governor in accordance with
the party constitution, in case he chooses to
disregard the party resolution.
The resolution reads in part: “After much
deliberations, the House noted that Governor
Yahaya Bello, has substantially, breached the
provision of Article 21of the constitution of the
“The House, therefore resolved to constitute a
disciplinary committee of 11 members to invite
Governor Yahaya Bello and give him the desired
fair hearing”
“Members of the disciplinary committees are,
Senator Dino Melaye ( Chairman), Hon.
S.T.Adejoh (Secretary), Senator Mohammed
Ohiare, Senator Abubakar Abdulrahman, Senator
Nicholas Ugbane, and Alhaji Haddy Ametuo, the
APC Chairman in Kogi State.
“Others are, Hon.Buba Jibril, Hajia Hajara Aliyu,
Hon. Folasade Joseph, and Hon. Suleiman Ali”,
the resolution stated.

Have You Read This?   Banks move to limit over-the-counter withdrawals to N10,000
Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

About Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: