Gbajabiamila and his loyalists absent from the inauguration of the HoR standing committees


Majority leader of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila and some APC members in the House of Representatives boycotted the inauguration ceremony for the 96 standing committees in the House.The ceremony was graced by senate President Bukola Saraki and chaired by the speaker of the House, Yakubu Dogara.

Gbajabiamila and the speaker have been involved in a cold war over the process leading to the selection of the chairmen for the various committee

Gbajabiamila had in October written a letter to Dogara expressing his displeasure over being allegedly sidelined in the process for the selection of the various chairmen. Some APC members in the house have also openly expressed their displeasure at the emergence of some of the PDP members becoming chairmen of some key committees in the house.

Of the 96 committees, APC got 48 committees while PDP got 46 which includes some of the important committees such as the committee on Petroleum (downstream and upstream), Gas, Aviation, Army, Works and Foreign Affairs.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: